newsConstitutive General Assembly of “Cluster GreenH2” Held in Rabat


19 Mar

Constitutive General Assembly of “Cluster GreenH2” Held in Rabat

Rabat – The Constitutive General Assembly of the “Cluster GreenH2” was held, on Thursday in Rabat, to examine ways to promote applied research, innovation and industry in the field of hydrogen.

As part of the continued implementation of the Royal Guidelines aimed at making Morocco a pioneer country in energy transition, the “Cluster GreenH2” group aims to contribute to the emergence of a competitive Green Hydrogen sector, and to position the Kingdom as a leading regional hub in the export of green hydrogen and its derivatives.

This group, whose Constitutive General Assembly was marked by the presence of Minister of Energy, Mining and Environment Aziz Rabbah, Director General of the Institute for Research in Solar Energy and New Energies (IRESEN) Badr Ikken, director general of the National Office of Hydrocarbons and Mining (ONHYM) Amina Benkhadra, and representatives of ministerial departments as well as industrial actors in the field of renewable energy, also aims to pool the efforts to enhance the national ecosystem on the basis of common objectives and to co-establish an incentive and equitable regulatory framework in favor of the development of the sector.

Dedicated to innovation and the industrial development of hydrogen, in particular by relying on the infrastructure of IRESEN developed in partnership with the Mohammed VI Polytechnic University (UM6P), “Cluster GreenH2” also seeks to encourage the transfer of know-how through collaborative projects bringing together industrialists and researchers from Morocco and abroad.

In this regard, the group’s mission is to promote technology transfer and industrial integration within the hydrogen sector, to build the capacities of local actors in the production, operation and development of the green molecule, to spur collaborative innovation as well as to promote Moroccan hydrogen on a regional and international scale.

In addition to certain public and private Moroccan universities and companies working in the energy sector, the main founding members of ClusterH2 are the Ministry of Energy, Mining and Environment, the Ministry of Industry, Trade, and Green and Digital Economy, the OCP Group, ONHYM, IRESEN, the Moroccan Agency for Sustainable Energy (MASEN), the Moroccan Agency for Energy Efficiency (AMEE) and the National Office for Drinking Water and Electricity (ONEE).

See also